Centre Name & Number The Sheffield College – 36510
Candidate Name Thomas Allen
Candidate Number 82836
Pathway
Project Title Project: Yi
Section 1: Rationale (Approx 150 words)
Over the duration of the last 12 units I have learnt many things to do with the production of films and media. Some things that I have learnt within the course are the methods films are developed and the work that goes into managing a social media campaign or crowdfunding. I have also developed an understanding the work that goes into an animation and the struggles that come with planning an entire project yourself. With the knowledge I have now I can further improve my work, for instance I now understand that I require more working hours to do my animation due to the lengthy process of drawing the images. The reason I have focused on animation is to improve my drawing skills in hopes to someday become a concept artist. I also chose animation as my preferred medium as I am uncomfortable with ordering people around like a usual director does.
Section 2: Project Concept (Approx 200 words)
I intend to create an animatic using a mix of traditional and contemporary animation styles. I came to this idea while listening to the song that I intend to use as a basis for the animation, Project Yi (By ViceTones. See bottom of section.)  and noticed the different instruments and sounds used to create the melody and backing, such as the mix of violins and electronic instruments. This contrast between the old and new is the reasoning behind my mix of different animation styles. Another influence for the idea is content released by Riot Games (the commissioner of the track) In which characters from their game were augmented [See: design-doctuments] To effectively complete this project I will not need many resources from college as most of the equipment I own already. I intend to use the majority of my time drawing the animation as being a solo animator is incredibly tough and during Unit 8 I found how time consuming animation is. I also intend to ask my peers how my work looks at the end of each week. Hopefully by the completion of the project I will have created a worthwhile animation that I can use in my portfolio and perhaps have developed my drawing skills further. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EIwtr-VqwcM)
Section 3: Evaluation (Approx 150 words)
 I intend to use blog posts to record my decisions using weekly journals to keep track of what I have done. I believe my audience will be people 15 and up and intend to design the piece around what I think will be visually impressive yet still coherent. I will not be working with others as I intend to use flash or draw my designs by hand. This is done to reduce me relying on others as people can be unreliable and might flake out if I need them to do something like act. If, and when, I come across issues I aim to solve them with as little disruption to my work as possible. I will look at a few ways to solve them as I usually take the first option available to me however I understand that this does not always work out. I intend to screen the video to my intended audience and peers and gather their responses in order to analyse how to improve or change my work.
Section 4: Proposed Research Sources and Bibliography (Harvard Format) – this needs to be a separate post
 
