psychological rewards & punishments – The use of the idea that the audience is getting something more or is missing out on something if they don’t help you.

Identification & imitation – connecting audience to the product and copying what other successful

agreement with values – Audiences are more likely to

celebrity endorsement –

Research on crowdfunding sites –

Kickstarter —

kickstarter-logo-light

On Kickstarter a project must have it’s goal met to be funded. If the project doesn’t meet it’s goal the money isn’t transferred.

If a project is successfully funded Kickstarter takes a 5% fee, Kickstarter also takes an extra 3% + £0.20 per pledge in the UK, if the project isn’t successfully funded there are no fees.

Kickstarter analysis – (https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1530969815/you-know-you-like-it?ref=category_popular)

At the time of writing, this project raised £1520 of its £1500 goal. The way that I believe it achieved this was through incentives and confidence, for example the video that is on the page is an animatic of the final piece, showing that the creators have a solid image in their mind. The incentives that are shown are getting the music video and being able to be in the credits, both of which have a limited edition early bird option which are slightly cheaper allowing people who wouldn’t have enough money for the normal rewards.

GoFundMe —

gofundme-logo.png

On GoFundMe any donations you get keep. If the project doesn’t meet it’s goal the money is still transfered.

If a project gets a donation, GoFundMe takes a 5% fee, GoFundMe also takes an extra 1.4% + £0.20 per pledge in the UK however this does not include VAT.

GoFundMe analysis – (https://www.gofundme.com/drawntoyou?ssid=790728151&pos=2)

At the time of writing, this project raised $2200 of its $4000 goal. The way that I believe it didn’t achieve it’s goal is the lack of incentive within GoFundMe itself as it does not seem to give the options of rewards for backing. As such I will most likely not use this for my production as it seems like you are just asking for money and not willing to offer rewards in my opinion.

IndieGoGo —

igg_logo_frame_gogenta_rgb-2-acdbed8c9b7f24c740e03f2e3fd13f60750a6ccb3817414df4f00a90d518d960

IndieGoGo has two forms for funding; Flexible, the creator keeps all contributions even if they don’t hit their goal, and Fixed, all contributions are returned if the creator doesn’t meet their goal.

If a project gets funded Indiegogo takes a 5% fee, Indiegogo also takes an extra 3% + £0.24 in the UK.

Indiegogo analysis – (https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/best-to-you-music-video-film-art#/)

At the time of writing, this project raised $330 of its $500 goal, however this project is on a flexible goal meaning they get to keep the $330 even if they don’t make their goal they keep the money. While this is good if you were planning to make the project anyway and the money was to improve the production I believe that it is unfair to donators because if the project required all the money that was required and the creator was allowed to keep it even if the project failed to reach it’s goal it could be used to fund other things than the project.

Patreon —

patreon_navigation_logo_mini_orange

Patreon is a monthly donation service where donators choose how much they donate per month and creators can set goals and rewards for their donators that are delievered on a monthly basis

Patreon analysis – (https://www.patreon.com/CorridorDigital)

At the time of writing CorridorDigital $5,833 per month of it’s 3rd goal of $6000. Patreon allows the creator to set multiple goals as the project goes on, however it seems thats Patreon is more suited towards people funding a company, rather than an individual project as it pays out the money each month meaning people would be more likely to give maybe $5 as it would not be much taken out of their paycheck.

PLANNING MY INITAL CAMPAIGN

Kickstarter —

[Note I can’t actually release a Kickstarter campaign as I am under 18 and I do not have the rights to make money off the song that I am using.]

kick.JPG

This is my plan for the Kickstarter campaign that I would make if I owned the rights to the song. My target was £50 which I believe was pretty reasonable as I would require to get more pens and paper for the commissions. The idea that the campaign would run for 30 days is from how as I wouldn’t require that much it would hypothetically be easy to collect that amount from donations.

Rewards

kick2.JPG

If I was to actually make this Kickstarter campaign I would have 15 potential commission slots with 5 of them taking priority. The fact that the rewards are limited edition and the priority rewards are slightly cheaper makes the viewer believe that they are more important if they take the cheaper one. I strategically made the more available reward slightly more expensive to counteract the increased work load. The fact that the prices are so close also suggests to the viewer that the priority commissions would be to the same standard of the others.

Facebook —

https://www.facebook.com/ProjectYimusicvideo/

 

Networking

email1.JPG

email2.JPG

While working my weekend job I was approached by a representative of Humbledinger, an independent film and video production company based in Sheffield. They asked that I sent them some of my artwork as they were looking for animators at the time.

 

Permissions

At the time of writing I have not sent a request to Riot Games (holder of the rights) but I intend to in the near future.

EDIT: After emailing Riot support I have been given the go ahead to make my video however I will not be promoted by Riot Games in any way.

The following is the response that I received from a Riot games employee.

screenshot_20161207-090654

Evaluation:

 

How I intend to distribute my film and why

Plan A: I intend to distribute my product onto Youtube as my main aim is not to monetize my production but rather to seek online exposure for my graphic design and animation. I intend to showcase my work to multiple audiences and interconnected subcultures with an emphasis on networking with professionals.  The audiences that would be reached if Riot Games (The company that holds the rights to the songs that I intend to use for my production) promotes me are the League of Legends community (the game that Riot Games developed which has a estimated 100 million active players) & Vicetone (a music creator with 226k youtube subscribers).

Plan B: If Youtube fails me I will upload my production to Vimeo as it has a large professional following but again I’m more focused for online exposure for my graphic design and animation. I intend to showcase my work to multiple audiences and interconnected subcultures with an emphasis on networking with professionals.