Centre Name & Number The Sheffield College
Candidate Name Thomas Allen
Candidate Number  
Pathway  
Project Title Project YI
Section 1: Rationale (Approx 100 words)
I wish to create a music video for the song Project Yi by Vicetone using a hand drawn animation style. I have chosen this as I really enjoy the song and I think that I can get a lot of ideas for the visuals. I chose this final idea because I believe that computer animating would be too complex and finding actors and actresses would be a pain to manage. If this would be aired on TV I believe that it would be able to be shown before the watershed as I would be using little to no violence within the piece.

 

Section 2: Project Concept (Approx 200 words)
I researched 3 songs that I considered using however I found that Project Yi was a suitable pick as I find the song rather catchy and I can think of things that I would be able to animate in places throughout the piece. I am intending to hand draw the animations because I am unsure how to use a graphics tablet. I have looked at a few different animations and I have decided I will not be doing too many frames to limit my workload as if I put the FPS too high I will run out of time in making my production. I will also be doing the backgrounds on a separate piece of paper so I can edit the production smoother. I am considering using maya or a similar 3d modeling program to edit in a time-lapse of a cityscape being built near the beginning of my piece. I intend the piece to have quite a lot of contrast between a dark foreground and a bright background or vice-versa. I think I will struggle mostly with the actual movements however if I start to struggle I will record myself doing the action and use that as a reference.

 

Section 3: Evaluation (Approx 150 words)
I intend to use blog posts to record my decisions however I will also try audio recordings as sometimes I struggle with getting words onto paper. I believe my audience will be people 15 and up and intend to design the piece around what I think will be visually impressive yet still coherent. I will not be working with others as I intend to use flash or draw my designs by hand. This is done to reduce me relying on others as people can be unreliable and might flake out if I need them to do something like act. If, and when, I come across issues I aim to solve them with as little disruption to my work as possible. I will look at a few ways to solve them as I usually take the first option available to me however I understand that this does not always work out. I intend to screen the video to my intended audience and peers and gather their responses in order to analyse how to improve or change my work.

 

Section 4: Proposed Research Sources and Bibliography (Harvard Format)
 

This section provides an opportunity to record the initial research sources, both primary and secondary, that you intend to use. Your sources of research should be as wide as possible, including libraries, museums and galleries, books, theatre/film/video, magazines, TV/Radio programmes, web sites etc.

 

Where appropriate you should use the Harvard system of referencing. The bibliography should be continuously updated as the project progresses.